First Week in the Capital

So, I finally moved in to DC last week, and I live a 5 minute walk away from the White House. I also signed up for the Monterey Spartan Race in June, so I have a nice incentive to run more often. Being surrounded by all these historical monuments is pretty damn awesome. I have made it a point to run to a different monument and back everyday so I can get my sightseeing and training done at the same time. Double win!

Ran to the Lincoln Memorial at the buttcrack of dawn
Ran to the Lincoln Memorial at the buttcrack of dawn
World War 2 Memorial run right before work
World War 2 Memorial run right before work
Picture of the Washington Monument whilst laying down on the base of the monument
Picture of the Washington Monument whilst laying down on the base of the monument

The Spartan race is a 8-10 mile obstacle course.. So this should be fun.  To better prepare I checked out the American Parkour Academy on New York avenue to better train for this race.  They have some top notch facilities and trainers, I feel like a kid on a playground again! Will probably post up some videos and pictures next week, but it is an exciting place to be!

The only thing better than having this monuments to run to and parkour gyms to monkey around in is having delicious food to fuel all these ventures. Food trucks run rampant in the streets at lunch time… and that is a good thing.  Franklin Square had a full blocked lined up with them ranging from Ethiopian to Vietnamese food. I got this amazing Banh mi burrito from a truck whose  name escapes my walnut size brain. No worries, I know our paths will cross again….
image

Leave a Reply

